You are here
Home > Featured > Zafa Temple No. 176 Earns Awards

Zafa Temple No. 176 Earns Awards

zafa temple no 176
 On January 14, 2017, Zafa Temple No. 176, a subordinate body of the Ancient Egyptian Arabic Order Nobles Mystic Shrine (A.E.A.O.N.M.S.) North and South America and its Jurisdictions, Inc, took home several awards, while also adding members to the Desert of North Carolina Divan.
PP Victor C. Cooper, Immediate Past Deputy of the Desert of North Carolina, presented the following awards for the 2016 year:

  • Temple of the Year for the Desert of North Carolina: Zafa Temple No. 176, Durham, NC
  • Illustrious Potentate of the Year for the Desert of North Carolina: PP Sammy McCullers
  • Noble of the Year for the Desert of North Carolina: HPPD Antoine Lilly

At the conclusion of the election for the 2017 Desert officers, Zafa Temple No. 176 added PP Sammy McCullers as the Desert 1st Ceremonial Master, PP Joseph W. Burwell as the Desert Captain of the Guard and HPPD Antoine Lilly as Desert Auditor.  ​

Zafa Temple No. 176 has been a staple of the Durham community since 1946, providing community service and mentoring to the local youth, financial scholarships to students seeking higher education opportunities, and continually donating to the research and cure of diabetes and cancer.

In November 2016, members began to collect supplies shortly after Hurricane Matthews impacted eastern North Carolina.  After an email challenge was sent out to the members by Illustrious Potentate Noble Sammy McCullers, the Nobles jumped right into action with donating and soliciting donations from the Durham community.

After establishing several drop off dates, a total of 70 boxes and bags of toiletries and clothes were collected and prepared for delivery to where the most severe flooding occurred.

Members of Zafa Temple in the photo:

zafa temple no 176L to R (Front Row): HPP D.  Antoine Lilly, PP Joseph W. Burwell, Noble Renaldo Jackson, PP Sammy McCullers, Noble Reginald Warren (Illustrious Potentate), PP Guster Lewis, Jr.; L to R (Back Row): Noble Victor Vaughn, Noble Felix T. Young, Noble Okera Adofo, Noble Kevin Atkins, Sr.

SHARE NOW!FacebooktwitterpinterestlinkedinmailFacebooktwitterpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: